redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin wechat play-btn line-arrow-right arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard account-loading collection external-link2 internal-link share-link icon-close2

CAPITAL MARKETS

Greater China Real Estate Market Outlook 2020


Hear from our experts


REBALANCING STRUCTURAL AND CYCLICAL INVESTMENTS


INVESTMENT ACTIVITY EXPECTED TO REBOUND IN H2 2020

 

Supported by more active cross-border capital and stronger purchasing by owner-occupiers, domestic real estate investment turnover amounted to RMB 263.3 billion in 2019. This represented a decline of just 0.9% y-o-y on 2018 and came despite weak economic and leasing market fundamentals.

Investment activity in China may fluctuate in 2020 due to the uncertainty of the duration and scale of the coronavirus outbreak. The deal process may lengthen amid the decline in business, especially in Q1 2020. However, CBRE expects investment activity to rebound once the outbreak is contained, supported by more accommodative lending policies, lower interest rates and improving leasing market sentiment.


ATTRACTIVE YIELD SPREAD SET TO SUPPORT REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT

On January 1, 2020, the People’s Bank of China announced a further 50 bps cut to the Reserve Required Ratio (RRR). However, China’s current policy rate remains higher than those in major mature markets. The need to mitigate the impact of the coronavirus outbreak will create ample room for further cuts to the RRR and Loan Prime Rate (LPR) in 2020.

The yield spread between Shanghai Grade A offices and 10-year government bonds is likely to widen to 130-150 bps, making prime commercial real estate pricing more attractive for investors.

Figure 30 


DOMESTIC INSURANCE FIRMS LIKELY TO TURN MORE ACTIVE

 

The continued low interest rate environment will encourage institutional investors to allocate more investment to alternatives such as real estate to enhance overall portfolio returns. China Pacific Insurance Company (CPIC) data show that annualised total investment returns of China’s insurance industry declined from 7.6% in 2015 to 5.6% in H1 2019 due to lower returns from fixed income instruments. In contrast, real estate can generate stable returns as much as 350 bps higher.

With the total asset value of China’s insurance industry exceeding RMB 20 trillion as of the end of November 2019, a one percentage point increase in allocations to real estate would translate to an additional RMB 200 billion spending on domestic real estate.

Foreign real estate funds will remain an active source of capital in 2020. CBRE’s analysis has found that Asia Pacific-focused close-ended real estate funds have approximately US$ 51 billion of dry powder to be deployed over the next five years, of which 20% will be targeted at China.

As demonstrated by Figure 31, although offices remain the preferred asset class (accounting for 42% of allocations), foreign property funds are expected to diversify into other sectors. With the government planning to boost infrastructure investment to stabilise economic growth during and after the coronavirus outbreak, logistics assets will remain keenly sought after, while equity investment in platforms will also continue.

US$ 10 billion will be deployed to China by Asia Pacific focused close ended real estate funds in the next five years. More diversified allocation across property types is expected.

Figure 31 


FURTHER OPPORTUNITIES TO ENGAGE IN REAL ESTATE DEBT

 

This diversification into a broader range of sectors could be viewed as a strategic rebalancing by investors seeking to lower their weighting on cyclical investments and increase their allocations to structural investments amid rising late cycle uncertainty.


REAL ESTATE DEBT OPPORTUNITIES

Other cyclical opportunities can be found in real estate debt. Between 2020 and 2022, domestic developers must refinance RMB 9-10 trillion of debt, a scenario that will provide investors with opportunities to provide development loans and mezzanine debt.

In addition, an expected drop in residential sales in H1 2020 due to the coronavirus outbreak is set to increase developers’ thirst for liquidity, forcing them to put more quality assets up for sale in 2020. Net disposals by Chinese developers reached RMB 97.1 billion in 2019, the highest annual figure on record. CBRE expects this trend to continue.


GROWING INTEREST IN OFFICES IN TECH DISTRICTS

Leasing risk is a major concern for investors considering purchasing offices at the late stage of the upward market cycle. However, CBRE believes investors may consider offices in tech districts and business parks in tech cities as a counter-cyclical option. These properties benefit not only from the clustering of fast-growing TMT companies, supported by government incentives and economic transformation, but are also attracting decentralisation demand from occupiers seeking to reduce real estate costs amid economic uncertainty.

In 2019, the TMT sector accounted for 25% of total office leasing volume in China, and rental performance in major tech districts across different cities eclipsed the national average.

Figure 32 


CORE OFFICE ASSETS REMAIN ATTRACTIVE INVESTMENTS

 

GENERATING DEFENSIVE INCOME FROM CORE OFFICES

Investors with deeper pockets and longer holding power may consider acquiring stabilised prime office buildings in core locations of gateway cities. Such properties can generate steady defensive income plus long-term capital value gains.

Taking Shanghai as an example, during 2020 and 2022, its core CBD is forecasted to see a vacancy rate slightly above 10% and largely stable rents. This contrasts with the overall market forecast of an average vacancy rate of 20% and falling rents. Competition from new supply in core CBD areas will be relatively mild, with just 3.9% or just under 133,900 sq. m. of new supply due to be completed in core CBD markets during 2020 and 2022


THE RETURN OF RETAIL

Transaction volume for retail properties surged by 52% y-o-y in 201912. Although the retail sector will be significantly impacted by the coronavirus outbreak, especially in the first few months of 2020, well-managed regional and community malls remain attractive structural investments in the long run as they continue to benefit from the decentralisation of urban populations, the lack of modern shopping venues in various catchments and the growth of omnichannel retailing.

Rapidly growing spending power and consumption upgrading by China’s middle class is spurring interest in outlet malls. The four outlet malls owned by Sasseur REIT registered y-o-y sales growth of 20.9% in the first three quarters of 2019. McKinsey & Co. data show that the number of upper middle class households (possessing an annual disposable income of between US$16,000-34,000) will exceed 190 million by 2022.13

12. Exclude retail projects that will be transformed to other asset classes after purchase

13. Mapping China’s middle class, Mckinsey , June

Figure 33 

Figure 34 


GROWING DEMAND FOR NICHE ASSETS

 

THE LOGISTICS STORY CONTINUES

The logistics sector will continue to provide structural opportunities for investors in 2020, with the penetration of modern logistics facilities still below 10%. Solid investment turnover will be fuelled by aggressive fundraising, with more than US$ 6.7 billion raised by China-focused logistics close-ended funds in 2019.

Although leasing fundamentals will remain upbeat for the next three years, investors are advised to adjust their return targets to a more realistic range and familiarise themselves with the short-term oversupply and weaker demand situation in Central and Western cities, especially those affected by the coronavirus outbreak.


MEGATRENDS SPUR DEMAND FOR NICHE SECTORS

Niche sectors such as data centres and cold storage continue to enjoy strong demand in China on the back of long-term structural shifts including digitalisation, urbanisation and consumption upgrading.

However, the coronavirus outbreak has highlighted the lack of such facilities in some urban clusters. Investing in those sectors could therefore benefit from the government’s policy of developing high-tech and infrastructure-related industries.

As these particular alternative assets usually require considerable operational expertise (in the case of multifamily) and significant barriers to entry (in the case of data centres), CBRE recommends investors engage in platform deals with experienced operators.

Recent examples of this trend include Gaw Capital’s formation of a joint-venture with Centrin Data to tap into China’s booming data centre sector, and Bain Capital’s purchase of a local platform with a portfolio of nine data centres.


Figure 35 


INCREASING IMPORTANCE OF ASSET MANAGEMENT

 

Abundant liquidity and lower interest rates are expected to ensure real estate yields remain tight in 2020, offsetting the negative impact of greater economic uncertainty and soft leasing demand in most markets.

However, office yields in few tier II markets could expand slightly to 6.5% due to weaker leasing demand resulting from the coronavirus outbreak, along with high vacancy rates. Logistics yields are projected to remain flat, but asset pricing is no longer cheap, especially for assets in coastal areas with robust leasing fundamentals.

Limited room for capital value appreciation and sustained leasing risk will ensure asset management takes on a more prominent role in enhancing rental income as well as unlocking hidden value.

Investors and landlords are advised to cater to tenants’ rising needs for flexibility, experience and efficiency. Potential strategies may include adding coworking or turnkey space and fitness and catering amenities to an office building; optimising the usage of outdoor space and pop-up stores in shopping malls; and implementing automation to enhance efficiency in logistics facilities.


Figure 36 

Greater China Market Outlook 2020

Stay Connected

Read More

Contacts

Ada Choi
Ada Choi, CFA
Head of Research, Greater China
& Head of Occupier Research, APAC
+852 2820 2871
+852 2810 0830
$name
Sam Xie
Head of Research
China
+86 21 2401 1318
marcos-chan-326x248-25072019
Marcos Chan
Head of Research
the Greater Bay Area and Hong Kong
+852 2820 2886
Ping Lee
Ping Lee
Head of Research
Taiwan
+886 2 7706 9552

redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin wechat play-btn line-arrow-right arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard account-loading collection external-link2 internal-link share-link icon-close2

大宗交易市场

房地产市场 展望报告 2020


听听来自CBRE专家的意见


结构性投资和周期性投资的再平衡


投资活动预计在下半年反弹

 

尽管经济增长放缓且租赁市场表现疲软,但得益于更加活跃的跨境地产基金投资和自用购置,2019年中国内地商业地产大宗交易市场录得2,633亿元人民币的总交易额,同比微跌0.9%。

到新型冠状病毒疫情持续时间和规模的不确定性影响,2020年的中国内地大宗交易市场可能面临短期波动。在疫情防控阶段,商业活动将大幅度减少,尤其是在一季度,这将导致交易周期被拉长。然而,我们相信,在疫情结束后,更为宽松的货币政策,更低的利率环境,以及逐步复苏的租赁市场情绪将促使投资活动迅速活跃起来。


收益率利差扩大使投资性物业更具吸引力

中国人民银行在2020年1月1日宣布降低存款准备金率50个基点。但是目前中国的贷款基准利率仍远高于主要发达经济体。为减轻疫情对经济发展的负面影响,我们预计,2020年仍有进一步降准和降息的空间。

中国十年期国债和上海甲级写字楼投资净回报率之间的收益率差可能在2020年扩大至约150个基点(图表30),这将提高优质商业地产对投资者的吸引力。

$name 


国内险资将保持活跃

 

低利率环境促使机构投资者在2020年密切关注包括投资性房地产在内的另类投资标的,以提高投资组合的整体回报。由于固定收益工具的收益率下降,银保监会数据显示,中国保险业的总投资收益率已从2015年的7.56%跌至2019年上半年的5.6%。而根据中国太平洋保险的年报信息,投资性物业的收益率一般可以比固定收益工具高出约350个基点,并且更为稳定。

银保监会数据显示,截至2019年11月,中国保险业总资产已达20万亿元人民币,并以每年2万亿的速度增长。保险公司对投资性物业的配置每增加1个百分点,意味着向投资性物业释放约2,000亿元的新增资金,而受到跨境资本管控的影响,这部分资金的绝大多数将用于境内商业地产大宗交易。

跨境地产基金仍将活跃于中国的大宗交易市场。据测算,在未来五年中,以亚太地区投资性物业作为投资目标的封闭式地产基金预计投放510亿美元,其中20%将面向中国内地。

但是,跨境地产基金在物业类型上的投资偏好可能发生改变。如图表31所示,虽然写字楼仍将是主要投资目标(42%),但跨境地产基金投资的物业类型将更趋多元化。在疫情得到有效控制后,中国政府预计扩大基建投资以稳定经济增长,物流地产的基本面将持续被投资者看好,对平台的股权投资将继续占主导地位。

亚太区封闭式跨境地产基金将在未来5年向中国内地商业地产投资市场投放100亿美元,且投资物业类型更加多元化。

$name 


房地产债投资机遇涌现

 

投资者在不同物业类型间配置偏好的转变反映出当经济不确定性上升时投资者的投资策略再平衡 ,即降低周期性投资的比重并增加结构性投资的比重。


开发商在偿债高峰期寻求流动性,带来房地产债投资机遇

周期性投资策略之一是房地产债。在2020年至2022年,内资开发商约有9到10万亿元人民币的债务需要再融资。而在疫情影响下,住宅销售市场低迷将令开发商的短期现金流压力进一步增大,这也为投资者提供了开发贷和夹层债的投资机遇。

为解决流动性问题,内资开发商也将积极寻求变现所持物业。2019年,内资开发商在中国内地商业地产大宗交易市场的净出售额达到了971亿元人民币,为历史最高水平。在2020年,内资开发商预计将保持积极出售的态势。


科技企业集聚板块的商务园区和写字楼关注度提升

写字楼租赁前景的不确定性是投资者在商业周期后端的主要顾虑。鉴于此,投资者可以聚焦从高科技产业聚集中获益的,更具租金韧性的优质写字楼/商务园区板块。这些板块的租赁需求主要由TMT和先进制造业等高科技行业推动,而这些行业在经济转型中获得了高增长,并得到了政府的大力支持。同时,这些板块也将从租户在经济不确定性加大的情况下去中心化以节约租赁成本的趋势中获益。

2019年,TMT在中国内地写字楼租赁交易中的占比已达到26%。并且,如图表32所示,在2019年,各城市中主要科技企业聚集板块的租金涨幅远优于市场平均水平。

$name 


核心区位的优质写字楼
仍是颇具吸引力的投资对象

 

核心区位的优质写字楼物业提供防御性租金收益

对于拥有大量资本和长期持有能力的投资者而言,门户城市核心区位成熟的写字楼能够提供防御性租金收益,并且由于核心区位土地供应的稀缺性,这类物业拥有长期的资本增值潜力。

以上海写字楼市场为例,在2020年至2022年期间,尽管上海甲级写字楼市场整体的空置率将突破20%,租金也将大概率下行,然而核心区写字楼的平均空置率将控制在10%左右,租金也将基本保持平稳(图表33)。此外,从新增供应的角度上看,只有3.9%的新增供应(总计133,900平方米)将位于核心区,核心区的已有项目受新入市项目的冲击较小。


零售物业重回投资者视野

在2019年,零售物业投资同比大幅增长52%12。虽然零售领域在2020年的前几个月受到疫情的严重影响,但受惠于居住区向相对缺乏优质购物中心的城市外围拓展这一长期趋势,运营良好的区域型/社区型购物中心仍是结构性投资的优质选择。同时,全渠道零售的蓬勃发展也为零售物业的租金和资本价值增长提供了新的动力。

中国中产阶级快速增长的消费能力和消费升级需求使奥特莱斯成为了另一类获投资者关注的零售物业。例如,砂之船奥莱房托持有的4个奥特莱斯在2019年前三个季度录得20.9%的同比销售增长。而根据麦肯锡的数据,中国上层中产阶级家庭的数量(年可支配收入在16,000-34,000美元之间)到2022年将超过1.9亿。13

12. 不含商改办类交易

13. Mapping China’s middle class, 麦肯锡咨询, 2013年6月.

$name 

$name 


另类资产的投资需求增加

 

物流地产仍是重要投资目标

在现代物流设施在中国的渗透率仍不足10%的情况下,物流地产将继续为投资者提供结构性投资机遇。持续不断的大规模募资为物流领域的投资提供了有力的资金支持。在2019年,全球封闭式地产基金已募资超过67亿元,用以在中国内地物流领域的大型股权/资产收购(图表35)。

尽管我们对未来三年物流地产的租赁基本面总体保持乐观,但投资者对目标回报率的预期需更具理性,并充分认识到部分中西部城市,特别是那些疫情较为严重的地区,在短期内面临的需求减弱及供过于求的风险。


伴随经济社会结构转型,另类资产获得更多关注

伴随着中国经济的长期结构性调整,例如数字化,城市化和消费升级,数据中心,长租公寓和冷链物流等另类资产的投资热度上升。

并且,这次疫情反映出部分城市仍缺乏足够的此类设施。这些领域不仅发展潜力很大,受经济周期的影响较小,并且与中国政府发展高科技和基础设施的计划相契合。

由于这些另类资产通常需要运营方面的专业知识(如长租公寓),或有很高的准入门槛(如数据中心),世邦魏理仕建议投资者与经验丰富的运营商合作,进行平台投资。

例如,基汇资本与中金数据在2019年成立了一家合资公司,以获取在中国蓬勃发展的数据中心领域的投资机会。另外,贝恩资本也收购了一个持有9个数据中心的国内数据中心平台。


$name 


资产管理的重要性提升

 

在2020年,预计充足的流动性和较低的利率将使房地产收益率保持稳定,从而抵消宏观经济和大多数市场租赁不确定性的影响。

尽管如此,鉴于较高的空置率和新冠疫情对需求的影响,部分二线城市的写字楼投资回报率或将面临上行压力。物流地产的投资收益率预计将基本保持平稳,但物流地产的资产价格已处于较高水平,特别是租赁势头较为强劲的沿海地区。

由于资本价值升值的空间较为有限,而且在此周期后段的租赁风险仍然较大,因此,世邦魏理仕认为,资产管理是投资者提高物业租金收入,挖掘项目潜在价值的重要手段。

正如本报告在之前章节中所提到的,投资者和业主应有效地响应租户对灵活性,体验感和空间效率上逐渐提升的需求。例如,为写字楼增加共享办公空间、健身和餐饮设施强化灵活性和办公体验;优化零售物业的室外空间布局并灵活引入快闪店;以及通过添加自动化智能设备提升仓储设施的效率。


$name 

大中华区 房地产市场 展望报告 2020

保持连接

阅读更多

联系方式

Ada Choi
蔡詠嘉, 特许金融分析师
大中华区研究部主管
兼亚太区租戶研究部主管
+852 2820 2871
+852 2810 0830
$name
谢晨
研究部主管
中国区
+86 21 2401 1318
Marcos Chan
陈锦平
研究部主管
大湾区及香港
+852 2820 2886
Ping Lee
李嘉玶
研究部主管
台湾
+886 2 7706 9552