redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin wechat play-btn line-arrow-right arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard account-loading collection external-link2 internal-link share-link icon-close2

HONG KONG SAR

Greater China Real Estate Market Outlook 2020


Hear from our experts

HONG KONG SAR ECONOMY
ECONOMY FALLS INTO RECESSION IN Q3 2019

 

Domestic sociopolitical unrest and global economic volatility created significant turbulence in Hong Kong in 2019. Local trade, investment and consumption declined sharply following the onset of large-scale demonstrations in June, leading to a technical recession in Q3 2019. Hong Kong’s GDP contracted by 1.2% in 2019, the first full-year negative growth since 2009.

Inbound tourism weakened significantly in H2 2019 and dragged down retail sales by 20% y-o-y over the same period. Retail sales registered a decline of 11% y-o-y for full-year 2019, the sharpest fall since the Asian Financial Crisis. The job market was also affected, with the unemployment rate for the retail, hospitality and F&B trades climbing to 5.2% at year-end. Overall unemployment edged up from 2.8% to 3.3% over the same period.

Financial markets remained resilient. The aggregate balance in Hong Kong’s banking system held firm in H2 2019, with the Hang Seng Index closing the year 2,344 points higher than at end-2018.

Hong Kong’s economic outlook remains downbeat despite the U.S. and China’s Phase-One trade deal. Prolonged sociopolitical unrest will also continue to weigh on affected sectors of the economy.

The coronavirus outbreak will also impact aggregate demand, at least in H1 2020. Various political elections as well as the Legislative Council election in Hong Kong will add a further layer of complexity to Hong Kong’s economic outlook.

As corporates stay cautious, labour market conditions may deteriorate further and weigh on consumption expenditure. Momentum in the trade, retail and inbound tourism will be weak.

Interest rates are expected to stay low for longer. Combined with ample liquidity and the low-base effect, overall investment demand is forecasted to increase from 2019.


Figure 37

Figure 38

 

HONG KONG SAR GRADE A OFFICE
LEASING MOMENTUM WEAKENS IN 2019

 

Escalating global economic risks weighed on leasing demand in Hong Kong’s Grade A office market in 2019. Leasing activity softened despite the delivery of 2.3 million sq. ft. of new space. Annual net absorption registered 403,000 sq. ft., a significant decline on the 2.9 million sq. ft. recorded in 2018. Beginning in Q3 2019, corporates turned more cautious as sociopolitical unrest began to affect the business outlook, resulting in many real estate decisions being postponed. Net absorption stood at -225,000 sq. ft. in H2 2019.

The U.S.-China trade conflict, coupled with the depreciation of the RMB, prompted leasing demand from Mainland Chinese companies to decline by 36% y-o-y in 2019. Demand from co-working centres was down 63% y-o-y in 2019, with 71% of leased space (174,000 sq. ft.) signed in H1 2019. Some operators opted to surrender space in H2 2019.

The high cost of CBD space and rising availability of new supply in non-core submarkets stimulated additional decentralisation activity in 2019. Occupiers relocated a total of 731,000 sq. ft. of space away from core submarkets, the second highest annual figure since 2015.

Weaker leasing demand resulted in higher space availability in 2019. Vacancy climbed in Greater Central, rising from 1.3% at end-2018 to 3.4% at end-2019, marking the highest year-end figure since 2014. Rents in this submarket fell by 5.9% y-o-y, the sharpest annual decline since 2012. Wan Chai/Causeway Bay and Greater Tsim Sha Tsui saw rents fall by 3.3% and 0.3% y-o-y, respectively.

The decentralisation trend kept vacancy in Hong Kong East low, and helped rents increase by 6.3% y-o-y in 2019. New supply in Kowloon East resulted in vacancy remaining high at 15.1%, leading to a rental decline of 0.8% y-o-y in 2019.


Figure 39

Figure 40


HONG KONG SAR GRADE A OFFICE

COST CONTROL TO BE KEY THEME

 

With the global, China and local economy all facing strong headwinds, office occupiers will stay cautious in 2020. However, should the coronavirus outbreak be contained by mid-year, business momentum will likely pick up in H2 2020.

Cost control will be a key theme this year. New and cost-effective offices in decentralised submarkets will be keenly sought after. Some larger occupiers may consolidate their footprint as part of a temporary adjustment amid the current downturn. However, the likelihood of significant downsizing is low unless Hong Kong’s economic outlook sours further. While coworking space operators will focus on improving occupancy, virtual banks and TMT firms may emerge as new drivers of leasing demand along with the introduction of 5G.

New supply in 2020 will fall to a 14-year low of 513,500 sq. ft.. This, combined with the 1.0 million sq. ft. of new space to be delivered in 2021, will mark the last few years of limited supply before a surge in new completions commences in 2022/2023. Most new buildings due to come on stream this year are in decentralised locations, and will therefore not impact competition in core submarkets. Occupiers with leases expiring in two to three years are expected to commence evaluating options in 2020 as they seek to take first-mover advantage of the upcoming supply boom.

Climbing vacancy and subdued market sentiment will ensure Grade A office rents soften further in 2020. Pressure will be strongest in the Central CBD, where vacancy is climbing and occupiers are reluctant to pay premium rents. Hong Kong East will continue to benefit from low vacancy and demand from occupiers moving away from Central and Wan Chai & Causeway Bay. While Kowloon East remains a preferred location for decentralisation, higher vacancy in this district will prevent rents from escalating in the short-term.


Figure 41

Figure 42


HONG KONG SAR RETAIL

RETAILERS STRUGGLE AMID SOCIOPOLITICAL UNREST

 

Hong Kong’s retail market endured a tough 2019 as sociopolitical unrest impacted consumer activity. Total retail sales registered their sharpest annual decline since 1998, falling by 11.1%. Widespread demonstrations on high streets and in shopping malls across many core and non-core retail districts resulted in all major trades suffering double-digit sales declines in Q3 2019 and Q4 2019.

Over 40 countries issued travel warnings to Hong Kong in H2 2019, leading to a 39% y-o-y fall in visitor arrivals for that period. Tourist-oriented retail trades were hit hard, with watch and jewellery sales plunging by 39% y-o-y in H2 2019. Several fashion chains such as Forever 21, Jack Wills and SPAO exiting the market during H2 2019, although some of these cases were due to global restructuring.

F&B, traditionally a resilient category, also suffered in the second half of the year. Total restaurant receipts posted their first negative growth in ten years, falling 11.8% y-o-y and 14.3% y-o-y, respectively, in Q3 2019 and Q4 2019. Several chains ceased operations.

High street shop vacancy in the four core shopping districts of Central, Causeway Bay, Tsim Sha Tsui and Mong Kok climbed 2.5 percentage points from 4.1% at end-2018 to 6.6% at end-2019.

Japanese retailers and eateries remained active, with over 20 new brands making their debut in Hong Kong in 2019.

Street shop landlords turned more willing to offer rental discounts to affected retailers at protest hotspots. However, shopping centre landlords’ concessions were limited to fee waivers and pro rata rental concessions. High street shop rents in the four core shopping districts fell 19% h-o-h in H2 2019, bringing the full-year decline to 19.2%. Shopping centre rents fell by 4.4% in H2 2019 and 4.4% in full year 2019.

 


Figure 43

Figure 44


HONG KONG SAR RETAIL

RENTS EXPECTED TO DECLINE FURTHER

 

The coronavirus outbreak, residual impact from sociopolitical unrest and external economic and geopolitical headwinds point to a another tough year for Hong Kong’s retail market. Consumer and retailer confidence are expected to weaken further in the absence of any tangible signs of recovery. More shop closures will be seen in H1 2020. Tourist-oriented retailers will find trading conditions especially challenging.

Pop-up stores will continue to drive leasing activity as retailers seek to limit capital expenditure and overheads. Experiential and service trades such as education centres, fitness clubs and medical clinics may take advantage of lower rents to lease space. Retailers may also use the current market downcycle as an opportunity to augment their omnichannel offering. Size requirements for shops will generally be smaller, with selected landlords already responding to this trend by subdividing larger premises to minimise vacancy risk.

New retail supply will remain limited, with 1.5 million sq. ft. scheduled for completion this year, 80% in non-core locations.

Shoring up occupancy will remain a priority for retail landlords in 2020. Rents are therefore expected to trend down further over the course of the year, although the bulk of the decline will occur in H1 2020. The average rental correction in core retail districts is predicted to be within a range of 15%-20%.

On a more positive note, CBRE believes lower rents could potentially attract more overseas retailers to Hong Kong, which retains its status as an important and lucrative international retail market. Many groups have been seeking to establish a footprint in the city for some time but have been deterred from excessive costs. The current situation may therefore provide them with a window of opportunity.


Figure 45

Figure 46


 

HONG KONG SAR INDUSTRIAL

LEASING DEMAND SOFTENS IN 2019 DUE TO WEAKER TRADE

 

Weaker trade activity resulting from the U.S.-China trade conflict weighed on Hong Kong’s trade and cargo freight volume in 2019. The city’s aggregate trade declined by 5.4% y-o-y in 2019, the worst performance since 2009.

Re-exports between Mainland China and the U.S. fell 13% y-o-y over the year, far below the cumulative annual growth of 2% recorded since 2009. Air and sea cargo were both down by 6.3% y-o-y over the same period.

Leasing demand from traditional industrial occupiers and freight forwarders softened in 2019, mainly due to the subdued trade market environment. Brick-and-mortar retailers also displayed a weaker appetite for warehouse space, particularly in H2 2019 when Hong Kong’s retail market was hit by sociopolitical unrest.

The tech sector was relatively active. On top of space requirements from e-commerce retailers, data centre operators leased more than 600,000 sq. ft. of industrial space in 2019, while an end-user from Mainland China bought a 196,000 sq. ft. building for redevelopment. Cold storage facilities also enjoyed solid demand. Temperature-controlled logistics operators and food-service providers leased at least 770,000 sq. ft. of space in 2019.

Acquisitions for redevelopment or revitalisation continued to reduce the availability of industrial stock for lease. A total of six en-bloc industrial buildings were sold in 2019, withdrawing a total of 700,000 sq. ft. of space from the leasing market. Combined with solid leasing demand from alternative sectors, this ensured warehouse vacancy remained low at 2.1% as of end-2019. Low vacancy resulted in accelerated rental growth of 3.6% in 2019, adding to a 2.8% gain in 2018. Growth was stronger for ramp-access buildings, which recorded an increment of 4.9% in 2019. Lift-access space registered rental growth of 0.9%.


Figure 47

Figure 48

HONG KONG SAR INDUSTRIAL

NEW DEMAND AND LOW VACANCY TO PREVENT SHARP RENTAL DECLINE

 

While the Phase-One U.S.-China trade deal has boosted prospects for trade, the outlook remains downbeat, meaning that Hong Kong’s trade sector is unlikely to record a full recovery in 2020. Other geopolitical tensions developing globally will also result in slow growth momentum and hence weak aggregate trade demand. Growth in China will continue to weaken and weigh on the country’s total exports. The coronavirus outbreak will negatively impact 3PLs catering to general trade and retailers.

Occupiers engaged in trade and retail related sectors are expected to remain cautious in 2020 and may even become a source of surrender space. However, steady demand for industrial space is expected to come from non-traditional industrial occupiers – a trend that will offset some of the vacancy risk facing landlords. The debut of 5G technology will likely generate increased demand for high-specification industrial space from technology and telecoms companies. Premises suitable for data centres will remain highly sought after.

CBRE’s expectation of limited vacancy risk also stems from demand from occupiers forced to relocate from properties that are due to be redeveloped or converted to alternative use. As of February 2020, the Town Planning Board has 39 proposed schemes under the Industrial Revitalisation Scheme 2.0, equivalent to slightly over 5.1 million sq. ft. of space that will be removed from the market.

New supply of warehouse space is expected to remain tight, with only one scheme providing 204,000 sq. ft. scheduled for completion in 2020.

Despite the grim macroeconomic outlook, low vacancy and demand from occupiers forced to relate will provide support to warehouse rents. CBRE Research expects warehouse rents to remain flat in 2020, with a single-digit decline only likely in the event of a prolonged coronavirus outbreak.


Figure 49

Figure 50


HONG KONG SAR INVESTMENT

TRANSACTION VOLUME PLUNGED IN 2019 WHILE PROPERTY FUNDS AND LOCAL INVESTORS REMAIN ACTIVE

 

Despite the climbing uncertainties in Hong Kong’s sociopolitical environment, investors’ confidence was largely unshaken. Aggregate balance in Hong Kong’s banking system remained steady at circa HKD 54.2 billion through H2 2019, while the Hang Seng Index climbed over 1,200 points since June.

Investment demand for commercial properties in Hong Kong, however, contracted significantly in 2019, with transaction volume falling by 52% y-o-y to HK68.6 billion. The figure was the lowest single year total since 2011 and was well below the HK$142 billion and HK$183 billion achieved in 2018 and 2017, respectively. Most transactions were registered in H1 2019, with only HK$23.2 billion worth of assets changing hands in H2 2019, making it the worst performing second half of the year since 2008.

The deteriorating investment activity was a combined result of mounting economic uncertainty, weakening occupier demand and falling rents across the major commercial property sectors. However, not all investors were cautious, with several property funds and local families continuing to seek assets. Property funds spent HK$18 billion (26% of the year’s total which marked an increment from 22% in 2018) on commercial assets over the year. Chinese capital was less active, deploying just HK$8.5 billion, accounting for 12.3% of total investment volume in 2019. This compared to an average of just below HK$30 billion, or 22% of annual transaction volume, over the past three years.

Softening rents, climbing vacancy and weaker leasing demand curbed investors’ appetite for core office assets in 2019. Office investment fell 61% y-o-y to HK$ 30 billion, although the sector still accounted for 43% of annual total transaction volume. In the retail sector, a lack of major portfolio sales meant just HK$17 billion worth of assets were sold during the year. Hotels were a sought-after asset class, with selected investors looking for properties to convert into co-living space. A total of HK$8.3 billion worth of hotel premises were transacted in 2019, a rise of 24.8% y-o-y.

Investment yields for office and industrial assets edged up marginally in 2019. Retail yields expanded by 50bps.


Figure 51

 

HONG KONG SAR INVESTMENT

SENTIMENT TO REMAIN SUBDUED BUT REBOUND POSSIBLE IN H2 2020

 

Geopolitical risks and the coronavirus outbreak will weigh heavily upon the Hong Kong investment market in 2020. Various political elections will impact China’s economic and political outlook and filter through to local investment market sentiment. The low interest rate environment is expected to remain unchanged, with the U.S. Federal Reserve not anticipating any further movement in rates until next year.

Transaction volume will fall noticeably in H1 2020 and will only pick up gradually when the coronavirus outbreak fades. Should there be an improvement in economic momentum after mid-year, investment demand may see a strong rebound in H2 2020.

Weaker demand from Chinese investors continues to provide local and foreign institutional funds with a window of opportunity to acquire local assets. The low cost of funding will ensure investment yields stay at relatively low levels despite escalating economic risks. New supply and hence vacancy levels are forecast to remain within manageable levels across all commercial property sectors in 2020/2021, thereby preventing significant yield decompression.

Core office assets may see mild yield expansion in 2020 as investors react to rental adjustments but the limited availability of investible stock will keep downward pressure on capital values within a narrow range.

Interest in industrial properties is expected to remain solid. Activity will be driven mainly by value-added deals, although concerns over land-premiums for redeveloping buildings for non-polluting industrial use continue to weigh on investor appetite. The introduction of 5G technology could potentially translate into demand for properties capable of accommodating data centres. Commercial buildings suitable for medical facilities, fitness centres and education providers will also be in demand.


Figure 52

Figure 53


Greater China Market Outlook 2020

Stay Connected

Read More

Contacts

Ada Choi
Ada Choi, CFA
Head of Research, Greater China
& Head of Occupier Research, APAC
+852 2820 2871
+852 2810 0830
$name
Sam Xie
Head of Research
China
+86 21 2401 1318
marcos-chan-326x248-25072019
Marcos Chan
Head of Research
the Greater Bay Area and Hong Kong
+852 2820 2886

redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin wechat play-btn line-arrow-right arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard account-loading collection external-link2 internal-link share-link icon-close2

香港市场

房地产市场 展望报告 2020


听听来自CBRE专家的意见

香港特区 – 经济
2019年第三季经济陷入衰退

 

香港经济回顾

受到本地社会动荡和全球经济不确定性的影响,使香港经济在2019年陷入不稳状态。自6月以来大的规模示威活动,令本港贸易、投资和零售在内的主要经济活动均出现显著下滑,经济于第三季进入技术性衰退。2019年香港的GDP萎缩1.2%,这是自2009年以来首次出现负增长。

香港的旅游业在2019年的下半年转差,导致零售业销货额同期同比也下大幅下跌20%,2019年全年同比下跌11%,是自二十多年前亚洲金融危机以来的最大跌幅。同时,就业市场也面临压力,首当其冲的零售、住宿及膳食服务行业的失业率截至2019年年底高达5.2%。总失业率也由年初的2.8%升至年底的3.3%。

尽管社会动荡不安,但金融市场总体仍保持韧性,整个银行体系的总结余也在2019年下半年保持稳定,同时恒生指数在2019年全年上涨了2344点。


香港经济展望

尽管中美已达成第一阶段贸易协定,香港经济的整体前景仍然黯淡。假若香港的社会局势不稳情况持续,将阻碍受影响行业的复苏。

最近爆发的新冠疫情将会影响到2020年上半年的总需求。全球多地政治选举以及香港的立法会选举都将增加香港经济前景的复杂性。

由于企业趋向谨慎,就业市场可能继续转差,进而影响消费意欲。贸易、零售、旅游业表现将持续疲弱。但由于息率有望持续低企,加上资金充裕及在低基数的效应下,投资需求预期将较2019年为高。

$name

$name

 

香港特区 - 甲级写字楼
逐渐增加的不确定性致使租赁活动减弱

 

全球经济风险不断升级,持续抑制着香港甲级写字楼市场的租赁需求。尽管年内新增230万平方英尺的供应,但租赁需求在2019年仍然疲弱。2019年度的净吸收量仅为403,000平方英尺,大大低于2018年的290万平方英尺。自2019年第三季度起,社会动荡开始影响企业业务前景,使其房地产策略转趋谨慎并延迟租赁决定。2019下半年净吸收量变为负至-225,000平方英尺。

中美贸易冲突带来的不确定性进一步加剧,加上人民币贬值,导致中国内地企业的租赁需求在2019年同比下降36%。共享工作空间的需求全年同比下降63%,其中71%的新租赁空间(174,000平方英尺)都是在上半年签署的。下半年更出现有运营商选择放弃租赁某些已签空间。

留在中央商务区的高昂成本以及非核心分区市场的新供应继续推动着租户在2019年迁离核心区。年内,租户一共把731,000平方英尺的租用面积迁离核心分区市场,是自2015年以来第二多的一年。

疲弱的租赁需求促致市场上的可租用空间上升。核心分区市场的空置率全都攀升,其中大中环的空置率从2018年底的1.3%升至2019年底的3.4%,是自2014年以来最高的年末值。因此,该分区市场的租金同比下降了5.9%,是自2012年以来的年度最大跌幅。湾仔/铜锣湾和尖沙咀的租金也分别同比下降3.3%和0.3%。

迁离核心区的需求促使港岛东的空置率保持在较低水平,从而支撑了该区的租金表现,同比增长6.3%。由于新供应都集中在九龙东,使该分区市场的空置率保持在15.1%的高位。因此,九龙东的租金在2019年同比下降了0.8%。


$name

$name


香港特区 - 甲级写字
成本控制为主导

 

在全球,中国和本港经济都面临强劲阻力的情况下,写字楼租户在2020年将保持谨慎态度。 然而,如果新冠状病毒能够在年中前受到遏止的话,2020年下半年的商业业务增长可能加快。

成本控制将继续成为2020年的关键主题。刚竣工及具有成本效益的非核心区项目将继续受到追捧。一些较大的租户可能会在现时下调的情况下进行整合。除非香港的经济前景明显恶化,否则大幅缩减经营规模的机会很小。虽然共享工作空间运营商未来将专注提高占用率,但随着5G无线数码通讯技术的到来,虚拟银行和电信通讯公司可能会成为新的需求驱动力。

计划在2020年竣工的新项目只有513,500平方英尺,将创下14年来新低。这加上将于2021年落成的100万平方英尺新空间,将会是2022/2023年供应潮来临前最后的竣工冷静期。2020年落成的新空间大多数都位于非核心区,减少了对核心分区市场的直接竞争。世邦魏理仕建议,于未来两至三年租约到期的租户,可以在2020年开始研究不同选择,以迎接即将到来的供应潮。

空置率的上升和市场气氛的疲弱将促使2020年甲级写字楼的租金进一步软化。其中,由于空置率正在攀升,而租户又避免支付过高租金,中央商务区的压力最大。港岛东将继续受益于低空置率,以及来自中环和湾仔及铜锣湾的搬迁需求。东九龙也是迁离核心区的理想地点,但该分区市场的空置率较高,致使在短期内租金难以上升。


$name

$name


香港特区 – 零售物业
社会经济不稳,零售商经营困难

 

香港零售市场在2019年,特别是下半年受社会动荡影响所拖累。2019年全年的零售业总销货价值与2018年同期比较下跌11.1%,使其成为香港零售史上自1998年表现最差的年度。社会动荡持续在众多核心和非核心零售区的主街及大型商场发生,导致第三季度和第四季度几乎所有主要零售行业的销售均出现两位数字的跌幅。

自6月以来,已累计有40多个国家/地区上调了对香港的旅游安全预警级别, 毋庸置疑令香港旅游业备受影响,加上高基数效应,下半年访港游客人数与2018年同期比录得39%的跌幅。故与旅游相关零售业受影响最大,钟表珠宝的总销货价值自下半年同比亦下降了39%。一些大型连锁时尚连锁店如Forever 21、Jack Wills和SPAO都在2019年下半年关闭了香港的分店,但当中一些是由全球重组计划所致。

在零售市场上,餐饮业一向更具韧性,但受社会动荡所拖累,餐饮总收益录得十年来首次负增长,第三季度和四季度同比分别下降11.8%和14.3%。与连锁时尚品牌类似,一些餐饮连锁店亦在2019年下半年关闭了位于香港的分店。

除了上述部分大型连锁时尚店撤出香港外,也有其他零售商选择在租赁期满时不续约,减少其在香港的总租用面积。中环、铜锣湾、尖沙咀和旺角四个核心购物区的一线沿街商铺空置率从2018年底的4.1%上升到2019年底的6.6%,上升了2.5个百分点。尽管市况如此,2019年来自日本的零售商和餐馆尤为活跃,有超过20个日本的新品牌选择在香港首次亮相。

与商场业主相比,街铺业主在租赁期通常更愿意亦更有弹性向受社会动荡影响的零售商提供即时租金优惠;至于商场业主所提供的则更倾向是一些管理费减免和按比例的租金折扣。2019年核心区街铺租金下半年环比下降19%,使全年下降19.2%。另外,本港商场租金租金降幅较小,2019年下半年下降4.4%。

 

$name

$name


香港特区 – 零售物业
零售环境进一步恶化使租金持续下降

 

新型冠状病毒(COVID-19)爆发,本地社会事件后续影响,再加上全球经济和政治不确定性,将压抑2020年整体零售消费情绪。香港零售市场在没有太多利好因素下,预计本地消费者和零售商信心将持续疲弱。整体街铺租赁需求将保持低迷,亦预料零售商在2020年第一季度期间可能会出现进一步的店铺整合,特别是与旅客息息相关的零售商将可能继续受影响。

由于零售商可能在市况未明朗前尝试降低并控制资本支出/营业费用,所以活跃的租赁活动应以快闪店为主。不过诸如教育中心,健身室和医疗中心等体验式和服务行业则可能会趁租金整体调整来租用心仪店铺。零售商还可以利用当前市场下行期间作为扩大其在线零售平台的机会。商店的规模要求将变小,部分业主亦已将大型零售店铺细分为较小单位,以提高商铺出租率。

香港的零售供应仍然有限,预计于2020年落成的商业楼面为大概150万平方英尺,其中80%位于非核心地区。

出租率仍将是业主的首要任务,世邦魏理仕研究预测整体街铺租金在2020年上半年将继续受压,核心零售区的平均租金将出现15%-20%的调整。但一些较大资本支出/缺乏其他替代选择的大型租户应预期他们租金的折扣幅度较小。

乐观来看,较低的租金可能会吸引更多海外零售商来香港亮相。香港作为一个发展完善的零售市场,当市况好转仍可保持其在国际市场的地位。许多国际零售商一直寻求在香港落户的机会,但它们碍于先前租金成本过高而受阻, 因此,它们可能视当前整体租金调整局势为机会。


$name

$name


 

香港特区 – 工业物业
贸易表现转弱令2019年租赁需求放缓

 

全球两大经济体之间的贸易争端令环球贸易活动减少,拖累了香港2019年的贸易和货运量。香港的贸易总量在2019年首同比下降5.4%,是自2009年以来表现最差。同期,中国内地与美国之间经香港转口货值同比收缩13%,远低于自2009年以来2%的年复合增长,而空运和海运吞吐量双双同比下降6.3%。

由于贸易市场环境疲软,传统工业和货运代理的租赁需求在2019年有所减弱。实体零售商对仓库空间的需求也较小,尤其是在2019年下半年,当时香港的零售市场受到社会事件的严重打击。

相反,科技行业相对活跃。除了电子商务零售商需求扩张之外,数据中心运营商还于2019年租赁了至少600,000平方英尺的工业空间。一位来自中国内地的数据中心更购买了196,000平方英尺的建筑物进行重建。冷藏设施的需求也表现强劲,温控物流运营商和食品服务提供商于2019年租赁了至少770,000平方英尺的空间。

活化工厦政策及私人收购重建继续减少了工业楼面存量。2019年,总共有六座工业大厦因可重建发展而获得收购,合计700,000平方英尺的空间。因另类行业的租赁需求持续,截至2019年底,仓库空置率仍低至2.1%。低空置率带动2019年租金增长率达到3.6%,继2018年增长了2.8%后加快。车路直达货仓的租金增长更为明显,2019年增长了4.9%,而货梯直达仓库的租金则增长了0.9%。


$name

$name

香港特区 – 工业物业
新类型需求和低空置率防止租金急剧下降

 

中美贸易谈判第一阶段协议达成,标志着贸易前景开始稍微改善,但是前景仍然暗淡,并会影响香港贸易环境在2020年的恢复速度。全球其他地区的地缘政治紧张局势也将导致贸易增长势头减缓,从而导致进出口需求疲软。中国作为全球最大的制造国,或有机会继续遭受影响,并对出口量造成压力。香港的物流活动也将保持缓慢。

从事贸易和零售相关行业的租户会在2020年保持谨慎,并有机会成为退租空间的来源。工业空间的需求预计主要来自非传统的工业用户,并抵消了潜在空置风险。5G技术应和投资者都将继续寻求适合数据中用可能会导致科技和电信公司对高规格工业空间的需求增加。

由于被迫搬迁用户的租赁需求预计维持活跃,市场空置率大幅攀升风险有限。直至二月为止,城市规划委员会收到了39项拟议活化工厦计划,相当于从市场上减少超过510万平方英尺的工业楼面。

预计2020年仓库新增供应将维持紧张状态,只有一个项目约204,000平方英尺将在年内完成。

尽管宏观经济前景黯淡,但低空置率和被迫搬迁的潜在需求将为仓库租金提供支持。世邦魏理仕研究部预计2020年仓库租金将保持平稳,这将使其在市场下行周期中成为最具韧性的商业地产类别。


$name

$name


香港特区 – 投资市场
2019年交易量大幅下降,房地产基金及本地投资者相对活跃

 

虽然香港社会动荡仍在持续,但投资者的信心在很大程度上没有动摇。截至2019年下半年,香港银行体系的总余额保持稳定,约为542亿港元、 而恒生指数6月以来2019年底已经攀升超过1200点。

然而,香港商业地产的投资需求在2019年大幅收缩,交易量同比下降 52% 686亿港元。该数字是2011年以来的最低年度总额, 远低于2018年和2017年分别达到的1420亿港元和1830亿港元。大多数交易在2019年上半年发生,而下半年则仅有232亿港元的资产易手,使其成为2008年以来表现最差的下半年。

2019年投资活动气氛明显转差很大程度是由经济不确定性加剧,租户需求减弱以及各主要商业房地产租金下降种种因素所致。但是并非所有投资者保持观望状态,一些房地产基金和本地家族仍继续积极寻找适合的资产。房地产基金于2019年内用于商业资产的开支为180亿港元 (占全年总额的 26%, 相比2018年的22%有所增加)。相反,来自中国的资金则更趋谨慎,全年只录得85亿港元,占2019年总投资额的12%,比起过去三年平均数,约300亿港元及占各年交易额的22%明显低。

租金走势疲软,空置率上升和租赁需求减弱等因素抑制了投资者核心区写字楼的追捧。2019年写字楼投资活动与上年同比下降 61%至300亿港元,但写字楼买卖仍占年度总交易量的43%。零售业方面,由于缺乏大型资产出售,因此仅录得2019年内总值170亿港元的买卖。酒店买卖则较受追捧,部分投资者积极收购全幢酒店,计划将其改建为共居空间。2019年全年酒店成交额录得83亿港元,同比增长24.8%。

2019年写字楼和工业的投资回报率均录得小幅上升,而零售项目的投资回报率率则上升了50个基点。


$name

 

香港特区 – 投资市场
2020年上半年投资情绪将保持低迷,但年内有望反弹

 

地缘政治风险和新型冠状病毒(COVID-19)爆发将在2020年影响香港的房地产投资市场。全球多地政治选举也预料会在某种程度上影响中国经济和政治前景,并间接影响香港投资市场气氛。预料联储局将维持稳定的利率政策,本港很大可能继续维持低利率环境。

交易量将在2020年上半年显着下降,并且仅在冠状病毒爆发减弱后才会逐渐上升。如果年中之后经济动力有所改善,2020年下半年投资需求可能会强劲反弹。

由于中国内地投资者的投资意欲减弱,为本地和外国机构基金提供了收购资产的机会。尽管经济风险持续升级,融资成本低将可继续使投资回报率保持较低水平。此外,2020/2021年各个商业房地产市场的新供应量和空置水平将保持在可控制水平内,这也将限制投资回报率的上行空间。

随着投资者对核心区写字楼租金调整作出反应,写字楼回报率在2020年可能出现轻微反弹,但受可供投资项目所限,写字楼资产的价格的下行压力只保持在窄幅水平以内,写字楼大幅度减价促销的可能性极小。

预计2020年投资者对工业项目的兴趣将保持稳定。尽管工厦改建为「非污染性工厦」所牵涉的保地价费用或会影响投资者的投资意欲,增值型投资方案仍继续受欢迎。在5G科技发展带动的需求下,数据中心将会继续成为较活跃的资产类别。一些适合发展医疗中心、健身室、教育中心等的商厦也会因其行业增长迅速而受投资者追捧。


$name

$name


大中华区 房地产市场 展望报告 2020

保持连接

阅读更多

联系方式

Ada Choi
蔡詠嘉, 特许金融分析师
大中华区研究部主管
兼亚太区租戶研究部主管
+852 2820 2871
+852 2810 0830
$name
谢晨
研究部主管
中国区
+86 21 2401 1318
Marcos Chan
陈锦平
研究部主管
大湾区及香港
+852 2820 2886
Ping Lee
李嘉玶
研究部主管
台湾
+886 2 7706 9552