redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin wechat play-btn line-arrow-right arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard account-loading collection external-link2 internal-link share-link icon-close2

OFFICE SECTOR

Greater China Real Estate Market Outlook 2020


Hear from our experts


SIGNS OF RECOVERY


KEY DEMAND DRIVES UNAFFECTED BY CORONAVIRUS OUTBREAK 

 

Nationwide office net absorption registered 3.36 million sq. m. in 2019, a decline of 37% y-o-y, due to the combined of U.S.-China trade conflict, the slowdown in P2P lending due to deleveraging and the consolidation of the co-working sector.

While these headwinds are expected to wane in 2020, the coronavirus outbreak poses a new downside risk to the office leasing market in the short-term.

Office demand among sectors most affected by the virus such as hospitality, F&B, transportation and retail will be hit heavily. However, CBRE’s analysis shows that the impact on the key demand drivers of TMT, finance and professional services, will be much lighter. The outbreak could even stimulate extra office leasing demand from certain TMT sub-industries such as online gaming, education and enterprise online working services.

In 2019, TMT, financial and professional service sectors accumulatively accounted for 60% of total nationwide leasing volume – a proportion that could further increase in 2020.

 

Figure 4 


FINANCIAL AND TECH SECTOR CONTINUE TO EXPAND IN CHINA

 

FINANCIAL SECTOR DEMAND EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN

This year will see the removal of limits on the ratio of foreign capital permitted in the life insurance, futures, funds and securities industries. The national treatment of foreign entities in credit rating, payment and other industries will also be implemented. Foreign financial institutions accelerated their pace of investment in China in 2019, with CBIRC data showing that ten foreign-invested insurance institutions received approval to increase their capital by RMB 16.82 billion, a 172% increase on 2018.

Several leading financial companies have already received approval to set up foreign holding companies and commence operations in China. These include Allianz, JPMorgan Chase Securities and Nomura Orient International Securities.

Foreign-funded financial institutions will emerge as an important new engine of demand in 2020. Core CBDs in financial gateways such as Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen are expected to see an increase in requirements from such tenants.

Figure 5

2020 is expected to be a milestone for the investment and application of 5G infrastructure, with 5G base station installation expected to rise from 50,000 in 2019 to 680,000 in 2020.

ABC COMPANIES TO DRIVE NEW LEASING REQUIREMENTS

5G adoption will accelerate the development of related industries. In particular, “ABC” companies – referring to those in the Artificial Intelligence (AI), Big Data/Blockchain and Cloud Computing fields – are expected to expand rapidly amid the growth of related industries including intelligent security, smart buildings, driverless vehicles, video broadcasting and e-sports.

In the cloud gaming industry, iMedia Research says that 5G commercialisation will propel the industry size from RMB 630 million in 2018 to over RMB 100 billion in 2023. In the AI segment, data1 recently stated that "82% of domestic enterprises that have not yet adopted AI are planning to deploy it over the next one or two years, and those who are already using AI plan to at least double their investment over the next two years."

Figure 6
 

 

Source : CBRE Research, February 2020


SUPPLY PIPELINE REMAINS SUBSTANTIAL

 

Figure 7 

The coronavirus outbreak will impact both office supply and demand in 2020. There is a high likelihood that around 13% of scheduled pipeline stock will be delayed. Should this occur, annual new supply would fall to 8.9 million sq. m. New supply will be added in both core and new CBDs.


Figure 8 

CBRE expects nationwide office demand to dip by as much as 40% y-o-y during Q1 2020, followed by a period of stabilisation and recovery in subsequent quarters. As a result, full year office net absorption is forecast to reach 3.5 million sq. m., a figure on par with 2019, but a decline of 19% from previous forecasts.

Nationwide vacancy is expected to reach 25% in 2020, with 15 cities forecasted to record high vacancy. Declining supply and improving demand should ensure vacancy falls after 2021.

DECENTRALISATION WILL CONTINUE

 

The trend for occupiers to decentralise will continue as lower rents in emerging areas lure tenants - especially companies in cost-sensitive industries - from established locations. Almost 70% of relocation deals in Shanghai Qiantan completed in 2019 involved manufacturing and life sciences companies.

New infrastructure, amenities and incentives will also support decentralisation. New metro lines serving Shenzhen Qianhai and Hangzhou Qianjiang Century City are due to open this year, while Qiantan saw the launch of the Shanghai Crystal Qiantan Shopping Centre. New CBDs are also offering financial and talent incentives.


Figure 9 

CBRE has also observed cases of recentralisation occurring as availability improves in core CBDs in several cities.

Figure 10 

Upgrading demand from professional services and finance companies will continue to dominate the leasing market in core CBDs. Firms in these industries completed 100,000 sq. m. of relocations (from the Second East Ring area and Wangfujing) or upgrading (within the CBD) deals in the Beijing CBD in 2019. These tenants will also continue to propel recentralisation demand in 2020.



LANDLORDS MUST OFFER SERVICE BEYOND SPACE

 

DIFFERENTIATION AND ADDING VALUE WILL BE KEY

Occupier demand for office space is becoming more agile and diversified. Non-financial aspects such as flexibility, sustainability, and wellness are now far more prominent selection criteria, while companies are considering a greater range of space formats such as coworking spaces and turnkey solutions.

Landlords seeking to remain competitive are offering more flexible lease terms, office space and services. With regard to lease terms, greater flexibility around the payment of deposits and renewal conditions are increasingly common approaches.

In terms of space and services, landlords are improving employee experience by providing an offering that includes co-working space, fully-fitted turnkey solutions, multifunctional conference rooms, fitness and catering amenities. Air purification equipment, visitor control measures and property management are set to take on greater importance after the coronavirus outbreak is contained.

Proptech such as tenant engagement platforms can be harnessed to further enhance service quality. For example, Shanghai Raffles City on the North Bund offers facial recognition technology, online visitor invitations and community activities via its in-house mobile application. It also features a range of amenities including yoga rooms, training classrooms, sports venues, flexible office space, rooftop gardens and other facilities. Elsewhere, the CP Center in the Beijing CBD includes facial recognition in its elevator systems, intelligent parking, roof gardens and co-working spaces by Atlas.

Figure 11

Flexible leasing and combining space, service and technology will be a key differentiator for landlords in 2020.



RENTAL DECLINE TO CONTINUE BUT AT A SLOWER PACE

 

Provided the coronavirus outbreak is contained by March/April 2020, the impact on office rents in most markets will be limited. Office rents in Shanghai fell by 0.5% q-o-q in Q2 2003 at the peak of the SARS outbreak, but quickly recovered in H2 2003. However, new supply and rising vacancy will continue to exert pressure on key office markets in 2020, with average rents expected to fall by 1.5% nationwide.

Although Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen will continue to see abundant supply, the recent decline in rents has lost momentum due to the easing of the U.S.-China trade dispute, recovering demand from the financial and technology sectors as well as the maturing development of professional services companies.

Rents in Guangzhou are expected to stabilise, underpinned by lower availability and the strong performance of Grade A buildings in Pearl River New City and Tianhe Sports Center. However, older buildings in core areas and newer projects in Pazhou may lag behind.

Tier II cities will continue to struggle, with rents projected to fall by over 1.8%. Weaker demand will drag on rents in tier II cities in North China, with Wuhan set to come under significant pressure due to its location at the epicentre of the outbreak. A sharp short-term increase in supply will weigh on rents in Nanjing. However, the rental decline in core tier II cities including Chengdu and Hangzhou is expected to be limited.

Figure 12 

Greater China Market Outlook 2020

Stay Connected

Read More

Contacts

Ada Choi
Ada Choi, CFA
Head of Research, Greater China
& Head of Occupier Research, APAC
+852 2820 2871
+852 2810 0830
$name
Sam Xie
Head of Research
China
+86 21 2401 1318
marcos-chan-326x248-25072019
Marcos Chan
Head of Research
the Greater Bay Area and Hong Kong
+852 2820 2886
Ping Lee
Ping Lee
Head of Research
Taiwan
+886 2 7706 9552

redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin wechat play-btn line-arrow-right arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard account-loading collection external-link2 internal-link share-link icon-close2

写字楼市场

房地产市场 展望报告 2020


听听来自CBRE专家的意见


复苏曙光初现


疫情对主力需求行业冲击较小

 

2019年,在持续的中美贸易冲突、去杠杆化导致的 P2P 继续清退以及联合办公行业整合的叠加影响下,全国写字楼净吸收量录得 336 万平方米,同比下降 37% 。

尽管上述一些因素的影响预计在2020 年会减弱甚至转向积极,但新冠病毒的爆发在短期内给写字楼租赁市场带来了新的风险。

受疫情影响最大的行业,如酒店业、餐饮业、运输业和零售业的企业办公需求可能会受到重创。然而,我们的分析表明,疫情对主要需求驱动行业 (TMT 、金融业和专业服务业 的影响较小,甚至可能刺激某些科技类企业的办公租赁需求的加速增长,如在线游戏和教育、企业在线办公服务等。

2019年,TMT 、金融业和专业服务业累计占中国写字楼租赁总量的60%,我们预计 2020 年这一占比将进一步提升。


$name

金融业和TMT 产业继续扩张

 

金融业租赁需求有望增长

2020年,人寿保险、期货、基金和证券行业将全面取消外资持股比例的限制。对信用评级、支付等行业的外资企业也将实行国民待遇。2019年,外资金融机构加快了在华投资步伐,中国保监会数据显示, 10 家外资保险机构获准增资 168.2 亿元,较 2018 年增长 172% 。

此外,多家金融业巨头获批设立外商控股企业,其中包括安联中国、摩根大通证券(中国)有限公司和野村东方国际证券。

外资金融机构的进驻或业务扩张将带来新的写字楼需求,成为驱动2020 年租赁市场的新引擎,尤其将利好北上深等金融中心城市的核心商务区。


$name

 

2020年, 5G 有望在大规模基础设施建设和商业领域应用上迎来关键节点。工信部统计显示,三大运营商建成 5G 基站预计将从 2019 年底的 5 万个增加至 2020 年的 68 万个。

ABC行业快速发展带来新增租赁需求

5G在基础设施完善的同时,也将提速相关行业的发展进程。 ABC 行业 人工智能( AI )、大数据 ( Big Data/Block Chain )、云计算 ( Cloud Computing ) 将在 5G 环境下获得新的高速成长空间,并加快 B 端或 C 端的应用领域发展,如智能安防、智慧楼宇、无人驾驶、视频直播、网络游戏等。

在ABC 行业的应用领域,以云游戏产业为例,艾媒咨询的报告显示, 5G 商用将使其产业规模由 2018 年的 6.3 亿元加速成长至 2023 年的千亿级。而在人工智能板块,我们将看到更多 To B 领域的应用,数据 2 显示:“ 82% 未使用人工智能的国内企业计划在未来 1 2 年内部署,大部分正在采用人工智能的企业计划在未来两年增加至少一倍的部署投资。”

$name


市场仍然受制于供应压力

 

$name


疫情的爆发将对写字楼市场的供需两端产生影响。CBRE预计,约13%的新增供应将延迟交付,故此,2020年的全年新增供应预测下调至890万平方米。核心商务区和新兴商务区都会有充裕的新增供应入市。

$name 

CBRE预计, 2020 年第一季度全国范围内的办公需求可能会下降40%左右,但在之后的几个季度中,随着疫情的减弱以及金融和TMT行业新增长引擎的推动,需求会逐渐企稳并反弹。因此,全年写字楼市场净吸纳量有望达到 350 万平方米,与 2019 年基本持平,但较此前预测下降了 19%。

预计2020 年全国空置率将攀升至 25% 15 个城市的空置率或达历史最高水平。然而,供应减速和需求持续复苏将使得 2021 年后空置率回调。


去中心化趋势持续

 

拥有充裕的高品质供应和租金优势的新兴商务区将继续吸引租户迁入,尤以成本敏感型的行业为主。 2019 年,上海前滩的搬迁交易中约 70% 来自制造业和生命科学行业。

同时,越来越多的租户亦看好新区不断改善的基础设施、商业配套以及优惠措施。2019年,深圳前海和杭州钱江世纪城分别迎来首条地铁的开通。上海晶耀前滩购物中心给前滩片区带来了首个综合商业设施。我们还关注到多个新兴商务区在财税和人才引进层面提供鼓励优惠。


$name

在“去中心化”趋势演进的同时,2020年核心商务区可租面积的的攀升将令“中心化”重拾市场的关注。


$name

以专业服务业和金融业为主的升级需求将成为吸纳核心商务区空置面积的主力。 2019 年,北京 CBD 区域录得两个行业从东二环、王府井以及本板块内的搬迁升级租赁的总面积约 8 万平方米。我们预计,此类租户仍将在 2020 年主导“中心化”的租赁趋势。



业主必须关注空间和服务

 

差异化和增值服务至关重要

租户对办公空间的诉求日趋多元化。多办公场景 的租赁灵活性 、建筑可持续性、员工福祉等非财务诉求日益受到租户重视 。 企业亦考虑更多元的办公空间使用,如共享办公、装修房等。

有经验的业主 开始提供更具柔性的租赁条款、办公空间和服务。租赁策略方面,更为灵活的租期、押金支付方式、续租权限等都有助于提升项目的竞争力。

在空间和服务方面,通过提供灵活办公、精装修办公、多功能的公共会议设施、健身餐饮配套等以满足租户对租赁灵活性的需求并提升租户体验。疫情爆发后,楼宇空气净化监测设备、访客管理和物业管理品质也成为疫情爆发后租户关注的焦点。

借助房地产科技打通从租户到员工的服务链条,从数据端切入完善服务内容。具体案例来看,2019年新入市的上海北外滩来福士广场依托凯德星APP平台,为入驻租户提供包括人脸识别、线上访客邀请、社群活动等智能办公体验。同时,楼内还添设瑜伽室、培训教室、运动场馆、灵活办公空间和屋顶花园等设施。而位于北京CBD区域的正大中心亦提供人脸识别并融合电梯系统、智能泊车、屋顶花园,以及引入寰图联合办公空间。


$name


租金仍处下行通道,但跌幅收窄

 

若疫情整体能在2-3个月内得到控制,其对大多数市场写字楼租金的影响将是有限的。参考2003年上海的数据,在第二季度非典爆发的高峰期,写字楼租金下降了0.5%,但在下半年迅速重回上行通道。然而,受持续的供应高峰和不断上升的空置率的影响,2020年写字楼租赁市场仍将面临压力,全国平均租金预计将同比下降1.5%。

一线城市的租金预测有望改善。尽管北京、上海和深圳将继续保持充足的供应,但基于中美贸易争端的缓解、金融和科技行业需求的复苏以及专业服务业的成熟发展,租金下跌的势头已经略有缓解。

由于珠江新城和天河体育中心的甲级写字楼可租面积有限且表现强劲,广州租金预计将保持稳定。然而,核心商务区旧楼和琶洲的新楼可能表现较差。

二线城市供过于求的局面在2020年改善的可能性较低,预计租金将同比下降1.8%以上。需求疲软将继续抑制华北二线城市的租金增长,而作为疫情中心的武汉将面临更大的下行压力。南京短期内新增供应大幅增加将致租金下滑。然而,预计成都和杭州等核心二线城市的租金降幅有限。

$name

大中华区 房地产市场 展望报告 2020

保持连接

阅读更多

联系方式

Ada Choi
蔡詠嘉, 特许金融分析师
大中华区研究部主管
兼亚太区租戶研究部主管
+852 2820 2871
+852 2810 0830
$name
谢晨
研究部主管
中国区
+86 21 2401 1318
Marcos Chan
陈锦平
研究部主管
大湾区及香港
+852 2820 2886
Ping Lee
李嘉玶
研究部主管
台湾
+886 2 7706 9552